Tags

, , , , , ,

All of my life, I have wanted one thing.

Well, lots of things.

Okay, everything in sight.

BUT! There has been one thing haunting me for all my years. Yes, I remember seeing those colorful boxes at store after store. I didn’t even know what they were but I’d ask for one anyway, because that’s how a little kid’s mind works. Yet again and again I’d be told that I was “too young.” I vowed to get my hands on one as soon as I was old enough, and that desire has never wavered. (Unlike other things I said I would do, such as watching Sugar and Spice and White Chicks when I was finally old enough to see PG-13 movies)

For years I agonized over the unobtainable new releases and variations. Watched as others enjoyed what was rightfully mine.

At eleven, I was brave enough to begin asking again but was given that same tired reply. (“It’s not appropriate”,”You’re too young”)

At thirteen, I felt it was finally my time. All of my peers had not only known it’s wonders, but had long since grown bored of them. It even said on the damn box that I was of age. AND STILL, I was denied!

At 16, I thought enough was enough. It wasn’t even about my desire any more, but the principle of the matter. I was like Gandhi and Rosa Parks all rolled into one, and I harnessed their energy to do what they would’ve done:I put it on my Christmas list. A plan which had failed me so far, but this time I would insist. But alas, it failed again. True, I could have purchased the item on my own, but I saw that disapproving flicker in the eyes of my mother. Her internal monologue singing that old refrain: “it’s not appropriate.” (In fairness, I may have been projecting.) Would my plight ever end?

A few days ago, I finally won. I happened to see it staring at me from the shelf at Target, teasing and tormenting as it always did. But this time, I took a stand. “NO!” I shouted (in my head) “I am an adult! I decide what is and is not ‘appropriate’ and I know full well that there is nothing wrong or shameful about this. I will buy this BECAUSE I CAN. I shall make a statement and declare that I, Shae Taylor, am finally old enough. WE ARE ALL FINALLY OLD ENOUGH!” I then waited for the uproar of applause and for the crowd to lift me high into the air and carry me out of the store as we began making the world a better place with this new movement that I had just created. Unfortunately, the aisle was empty. If it hadn’t been, all of that would’ve totally happened.

So anyway, I am now the proud owner of a Sims games. That’s right. A freaking Sims game.

I haven’t even so much as opened it yet, since I have been trying to catch up on homework BECAUSE I’M A RESPONSIBLE ADULT. But later this week I will finally know the satisfaction of forcing a little animated person to do my bidding. And I will likely get bored 2 minutes later. But it’s more about the symbolism at this point, really.

The point of all this: barring anything that’s harmful to yourself or others, go do something that you weren’t allowed to do when you were young. Something that would spark that “maybe when you’re older” response that comes standard in all parents. Watch an R rated movie, put a blue streak in your hair (the clip-on extensions totally count), buy a PC game that most nine year olds have played. It doesn’t matter what it is, so long as it means something to you. Because getting older may suck in lots of ways that are out of our control, but that doesn’t mean we don’t have the power to make the rest of it awesome.

That closing statement was all kinds of terrible. I feel I should end this with some uplifting music and a link to someone who phrases things more eloquently.

Instead: read it and weep, suckers.

I don't see anything inappropriate going on here.

PS. Don’t let the fact the game box has been hiding in the shopping bag for the past few days undermine anything that I have just said.

